Election 2021: Republican Candidates To Vie for Party Backing in Three Races at July Caucus [UPDATED]


Update—July 6

The Republican Town Committee announced July 6 that two residents are seeking party backing at the July 20 GOP caucus to fill the two-year remainder of a term on the Board of Education: Hugo Alves and Patrick O’Connell.

Original Article

Republican voters next month will decide which candidates will receive party backing for the municipal election Nov. 2, and there are three contested races, officials say.

Challengers have emerged for town clerk as well as seats on the Board of Education and Town Council, according to a press release issued Thursday by the Republican Town Committee. The Republican caucus is scheduled for 6 p.m. on July 20 in the auditorium at New Canaan High School.

Two Republicans are vying for GOP endorsement for the town clerk position, the press release said, as Anna Krolikowski is challenging incumbent Claudia Weber.

Six Republicans are vying for GOP backing for three Board of Education seats that are up for election this fall, according to the press release: Dan Bennett, Philip Hogan, Jessica Huetter and Julie Toal along with incumbents Katrina Parkhill, the Board of Ed chair, and Jennifer Richardson, the Board secretary. (Republican Board of Ed member Dionna Carlson, a former chair whose current term expires in November, is not listed in the RTC release.)

“With regard to the recently vacated Board of Education seat with a two-year reminder of term: Candidates who properly submit a petition for this position by the July 2 deadline, will participate in the caucus,” the press release said.

And six Republicans are seeking GOP backing for four seats on the Town Council: incumbents Tom Butterworth and Penny Young, as well as Luke J. Kaufman, Kimberly Norton, Keith Richey and James Yao. (Republican incumbents John Engel, the legislative body’s chair, and Rich Townsend, a vice chair and secretary, are not listed in the RTC release.)

The Republican caucus also will determine who earns party endorsement in races that are uncontested at the GOP level, including for Board of Selectmen (First Selectman Kevin Moynihan and Selectman Nick Williams are seeking re-election), town treasurer (Andrew Brooks) and Board of Assessment Appeals (Pavla Levin and Kevin P. McIntosh).

All above-listed candidates are qualified to seek Republican endorsement through the petitioning process or were nominated as per the rules of the RTC. 

Constable candidates do not file petitions. The RTC has nominated Arvind Bajaj, Jill Guzzetti, Mary Anne Mercogliano and Gregory Pepe for four constable seats, according to the press release.

The Democratic Town Committee typically takes nominations from the floor at its own caucus—this year, the DTC meeting will be held July 26 and it will be partly if not fully virtual, according to DTC Chair Lisa Hannich.

[Editor: This article has been updated to add a sixth Board of Ed candidate. Comments are disabled.]

Comments are closed.