‘New Canaan Now & Then’ is sponsored by Brown Harris Stevens Realtors Joanne Santulli, Karen Ceraso, Bettina Hegel and Schuyler Morris. The Haviland Estate located at 276 Park Street (or 259 Park Street in 1954) included a house built by the local carpenter Samuel O. Everett in 1915, who lived on Richmond Hill.
When Samuel died in 1917 the property was passed to his children: George E. Everett, Carrie L. Brown and Emilie D. Gonzalez. In 1920 the property was sold to Julian C. Gonzales and Edith G. Hiltel. The house boasts a unique design for the area with its large scale salt box and side entry and projected bay windows. The Stamford Advocate reported in 1968 that Park Street was known as “Quality Street” because families of high quality had chosen to live along its length.