Election 2014: O’Dea, Boucher Re-Elected; Wilms Wins; Malloy Claims Victory


As a close race for the governor’s seat kept Connecticut residents awake into the predawn hours Wednesday, voter returns from Election Day showed that New Canaan constituents backed winners in the state legislature.

New Canaan resident and state Rep. Tom O'Dea (R-125) won a convincing re-election on Nov. 3, 2014. Credit: Michael Dinan

New Canaan resident and state Rep. Tom O’Dea (R-125) won a convincing re-election on Nov. 3, 2014. Credit: Michael Dinan

New Canaan resident and State Rep. Tom O’Dea (R-125) retained his seat in the Connecticut General Assembly by a convincing margin—88 percent versus 12 percent for challenger David Bedell of the Green Party.

Incumbent state Sen. Toni Boucher (R-26) also won re-election, defeating Democrat and fellow Wiltonian Philip Sharlach.

In those two contests, and the race for the 142nd House District seat, the majority of New Canaan voters cast ballots for winners. Candidates for New Canaan’s delegation to Hartford in the state House and state Senate both debated in town two weeks ago. Here’s a look at how the town, districts and state voted in some of the relevant races.

How New Canaan Voted: Election Day 2014

OfficeCandidate & Party (winner in bold)New Canaan tally** Overall**
State House 125thDavid Bedell, Green Party539825
Tom O'Dea, Republican4,4765,552
State House 142ndAndy Garfunkel, Democrat2892,370
Fred Wilms, Republican8533,972
State Senate 26thToni Boucher, Republican2,33924,300
Philip Sharlach, Democrat79413,274
State Senate 36thL. Scott Frantz, Republican2,94821,067
Ed Heflin, Green Party3563,171
4th CongressionalDan Debicella, Republican4,60592,061
Jim Himes, Democrat2,484106,592
GovernorTom Foley, Republican4,950518,064 (99% reporting)
Dan Malloy, Democrat2,186547,264
Joseph Visconti, Independent1411,486
ComptrollerKevin Lembo, Democrat1,818517,293 (99% reporting)
Rolf Maurer, Green Party8216,154
Sharon McLaughlin, Republican4,949474,439
Attorney GeneralStephen Fournier, Green Party8420,684 (97% reporting)
George Jepsen, Democrat2,118558,492
Kie Westby, Republican4,714418,207
Secretary of the StateMike DeRosa, Green Party8623,074 (99% reporting)
Peter Lumaj, Republican4,799487,819
Denise Merrill, Democrat2,004515,127
TreasurerTim Herbst, Republican4,971511,582 (99% reporting)
Denise Nappier, Democrat1,911502,857
* Sources: New Canaan Registrar of Voters and Hartford Courant
** Preliminary totals include all parties voting for candidates, 100% of districts reporting unless otherwise noted

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *