Election 2018 Hub [UPDATED]


Election Day in New Canaan, Nov. 6, 2018. Town Hall is hosting same-day registration and balloting. Credit: Michael Dinan

[Note: Bookmark this article for Tuesday, when NewCanaanite.com will post regular updates on voter turnout and results as numbers come in on Election Day.]


Here’s a table tracking voter turnout in New Canaan that we’ll update throughout the day. We’ve included a column of hourly voter count from 2016, by way of comparison (hourly voter counts from 2014 are not available):

New Canaan Election 2018: Voter Turnout, Hourly Count

HourVotes 2018% of electorate (2018)Votes 2016
7 to 8 p.m.40068.8%234
6 to 7 p.m.59465.9%705
5 to 6 p.m.50761.7%579
4 to 5 p.m.53659.5%508
3 to 4 p.m.66254.3%495
2 to 3 p.m.60449.6%492
1 to 2 p.m.51845.3%532
12 to 1 p.m.54241.6%594
11 a.m. to 12 p.m.73637.8%878
10 to 11 a.m.81732.5%886
9 to 10 a.m.83326.7%891
8 to 9 a.m.74220.8%961
7 to 8 a.m.76615.5%940
6 to 7 a.m.64710%886
Premarked absentees7725.5%1,431
Source: Voter Checklist website


Update 1 p.m.

On left, State Rep. Tom O’Dea (R-125th) greets voters at the polls on Election Day. Nov. 6, 2018.

State Rep. Tom O’Dea (R-125th) started his day at 5:50 a.m. in Wilton and he planned to head to New Canaan High School in the early afternoon to greet voters.

“It has been what appears to be a record mid-term turnout in Wilton this morning,” he told NewCanaanite.com. “This has been the most rewarding and demanding job of my career and I believe myself Toni Boucher, Scott Frantz and Fred Wilms have earned another two years with all that we have accomplished.”

He referred to New Canaan’s delegation to the state legislature.

Referring to the GOP slate, O’Dea continued, “But it’s up to the voters. I am very confident the voters will elect Bob Stefanowski, Joe Markley, Thad Grey, Sue Hatfield and Susan Chapman. Connecticut is ready to give Republicans a shot at governance.”

Update 12 p.m.

Nearly 38 percent of New Canaan’s electorate had voted as of midday Tuesday, with 4,541 ballots cast to go along with 772 pre-marked absentees. The figure compares to about 50 percent of the electorate voting by 12 p.m. during the presidential election two years ago.

Democrat Ross Tartell is challenging incumbent Republican Tom O’Dea (R-125th) for a state House seat. Here is Tartell outside the polling place at New Canaan High School—Nov. 6, 2018. Credit: Michael Dinan

Ross Tartell, a Democrat challenging incumbent Republic state Rep. Tom O’Dea (125th) stood outside the polling place at New Canaan High School with an umbrella, as voters dashed through heavy rains toward the auxiliary gym.

Tartell said he was feeling “fabulous.”

“I’ve reached the goals I needed to reach for this campaign which is to make it a good solid hard run and make sure everybody’s voice is heard,” he said. “That’s what it has all been about.”

L-R: New Canaan’s Dionna Carlson with New Canaan RTC Chairman Patrick Donovan, at a tent outside the polling place at New Canaan High School on Election Day—Nov. 6, 2018. Credit: Michael Dinan

Original Article

New Canaan constituents on Nov. 6 will cast ballots for candidates seeking elected offices including governor and lieutenant governor, U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives, state Senate and state House.

Based on absentee ballots issued, officials are expecting strong turnout at the polls.

According to sample ballots issued by the Connecticut Secretary of the State (see below): candidates for governor include Democrat Ned Lamont, Republican Bob Stefanowski and Libertarian Rodney Hanscomb; lieutenant governor include Democrat Susan Bysiewicz, Republican Joe Markley and Libertarian Jeffrey Thibeault; U.S. senator include Democrat Chris Murphy (incumbent), Republican Matthew Corey, Libertarian Richard Lion and the Green Party’s Jeff Russell; candidates for U.S. Representative (CT-4) include Democrat Jim Himes (incumbent) and Republican Harry Arora; candidates for state Senate (26th) include Democrat Will Haskell and (incumbent) Republican Toni Boucher, state Senate (36th) include Democrat Alexandra “Alex” Bergstein, Republican L. Scott Frantz (incumbent) and the Green Party’s Megan Cassano; candidates for state House (125th) include Democrat Ross Tartell and Republican Tom O’Dea (incumbent), and state House (142nd) include Democrat Lucy Dathan and Republican Fred Wilms (incumbent). Other offices up for election include treasurer, comptroller, attorney general and judge of probate. John Amarillos and Joan McLaughlin are appearing on the ballot as the Democratic and Republican Registrar of Voters candidates, respectively.

Here’s a voter registration summary of New Canaan:

New Canaan Voter Count—Nov. 1, 2018

By local voting district
*Source: New Canaan Registrar of Voters


Not sure where you’re going to vote? Check here.

Here’s a sample ballot:

No Title

No Description

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *