Election 2020: Dathan, Haskell, O’Dea Re-Elected; How New Canaan Voted [TABLE]


Voters on Tuesday re-elected at least three members of New Canaan’s delegation to the state legislature. 

In an election that saw strong turnout and especially high numbers of absentee ballots cast amid the COVID-19 pandemic—leading to a delay in tallying votes—State Reps. Lucy Dathan (D-142nd) and Tom O’Dea (R-125th) and state Sen. Will Haskell (D-26th) retained their seats in the General Assembly. (O’Dea, a New Canaan resident, was unopposed.)

State Sen. Alex Kasser (D-36th) remained locked in a close race with Greenwich Republican Ryan Fazio as of 6:30 p.m. Wednesday.

As in 2018, most New Canaanites backed Republican candidates for state offices, though they did so at lower overall percentages. New Canaan voters also backed U.S. Rep. Jim Himes (D-4) for the first time since his election to Congress one dozen years ago.

Here’s how New Canaan voted. These are preliminary figures that include in-person voting as well as absentee ballots and Election Day registrations. Only overseas ballots still need to be tallied:

Election 2020: How New Canaan Voted in Contested Races

OfficeCandidate & Party (winners in bold)New Canaan tally
State House 142ndLucy Dathan, Democrat875
Fred Wilms, Republican1,139
State Senate 26thWill Haskell, Democrat2,662
Kim Healy, Republican3,082
State Senate 36thRyan Fazio, Republican3,609
Alex Kasser, Democrat2,846
4th CongressionalJim Himes, Democrat6,285
Brian Merlen, Independent105
Jonathan Riddle, Republican5,820
U.S. PresidentJoe Biden, Democrat7,186
Donald Trump, Republican4,840
Source: New Canaan Registrars of Voters


According to Town Clerk Claudia Weber, this year saw more than two-and-a-half times the number of absentee ballots issued four years ago. Including absentees, overall turnout was 82.2%—more than two points higher than 2016.

Also as they did in 2016, New Canaan voters backed the Democratic candidate for president. (This year’s presidential race between Donald Trump and Joe Biden hadn’t been called by 6:30 p.m. Wednesday.)

In uncontested races, O’Dea earned 7,215 votes, Republican Registrar of Voters Joan McLaughlin 6,702 and Democratic Registrar of Voters John Amarilios 5,226.

Haskell held off a challenge from Wilton Republican Kim Healy. 

“I am really them proud of the response we saw and even more proud that we ran a campaign that was positive and focused on the issues,” he told NewCanaanite.com.

Haskell added, “I was so inspired by the turnout yesterday, and I think it is amazing so many people participated.” Haskell noted that Connecticut is one of 10 states that doesn’t have early voting and that he will push for the state to reform elections and “fight so that everybody has not only the right to vote, but also the opportunity.”

Dathan, who held off a challenge from former state Rep. Fred Wilms, a Republican, said in a statement, “We’ve listened to you and your voices, and we are bolstered by your overwhelming support. The numbers have given us the vote of confidence to move forward to a healthier, safer, and brighter future for all residents of the 142nd, and I am so heartened to have the honor of serving you for two more years.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *