New Canaan RTC Announces Petition Candidates for Caucus in July


Five Republicans will run for four Town Council seats in municipal elections this fall, and six GOPers are seeking three seats on the Board of Education, officials said Thursday.

The New Canaan Republic Town Committee will hold its caucus on July 21 to endorse candidates for the Nov. 3 elections, the RTC said in a press release.

The five petition candidates for the four Town Council seats are:

  • Cristina Aguirre-Ross
  • Kenneth D. Campbell Jr. (incumbent)
  • Stephen J. Karl (incumbent)
  • Christa Kenin
  • Roger Williams (incumbent).

Incumbent Republican councilman Tucker Murphy is not seeking re-election.

The six petition candidates for the three Board of Ed seats are:

  • Thomas G. Cronin
  • Gene W. Goodman (incumbent)
  • Hazel R. Hobbs (incumbent)
  • Mary Anne Marcella
  • Maria Naughton
  • John Patrick Walsh.

Incumbent Republican Scott Gress, vice chair of the school board, is not seeking re-election.

The RTC will host a Candidates’ Forum on at 7 p.m. Monday, July 13 in the Community Room at the New Canaan Nature Center. It will be moderated by State Sen. Toni Boucher (R-26) and broadcast by NCTV Channel 79.

Elected positions on the Nov. 3 ballot include: First Selectman, Selectman, Town Treasurer, Town Clerk, Town Council, Board of Education, Constables and Board of Assessment Appeals.

According to the RTC, the petition candidates for the top four elective offices are unopposed with incumbents First Selectman Robert E. Mallozzi III, Selectman Nicholas Williams, Treasurer Andrew Brooks and Town Clerk Claudia Weber all running for re-election. These candidates along with candidates for Constable and Board of Assessment Appeals will be nominated and endorsed by acclimation at the caucus.

“All registered Republican electors may attend the Caucus on July 21st to vote for the petition candidates for Town Council and the Board of Education,” the RTC said in its press release. “Doors will open at 7 p.m. at the NCHS Auditorium for checking in of electors by the Registrars and distribution of ballots. Balloting will begin after the Moderator of the Caucus declares the balloting to be open. There will be no absentee voting.”

The terms of positions to be filled in the upcoming municipal elections are as follows:

  • First Selectman: Nov. 17, 2015 to Nov. 2, 2017
  • Selectman:Nov. 17, 2015 to Nov. 2, 2017
  • Town Clerk: Jan. 5, 2016 to Jan. 2, 2018
  • Treasurer: Nov. 17, 2015 to Nov. 21, 2017
  • Board of Education: Nov. 17, 2015 to Nov. 19, 2019
  • Board of Assessment Appeals: Nov. 17, 2015 to Nov. 21, 2017
  • Town Council: Nov. 4, 2015 to Nov. 6, 2019
  • Constables: Nov. 17, 2015 to Nov. 21, 2017

According to the press release, RTC Chairman James McLaughlin said the RTC is always looking for new volunteers for endorsement by the Committee to serve in appointed positions on various Town boards and commissions and also volunteers who may wish to serve as a member of the RTC.

Individuals interested in serving in either capacity may contact Mr. McLaughlin at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *